You are here

Order of Canada Appointments

Ottawa, ON – January 6, 2015 – The National Trust congratulates cultural heritage conservation experts Dr. Christina Cameron and Mr. John G. McAvity on their recent appointments to the Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours.

Dr. Cameron was appointed to the Order of Canada for her contributions to heritage preservation through her work with Parks Canada Agency, with UNESCO’s World Heritage Convention, and as a university professor. A recent recipient of the National Trust’s 2014 Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement, Dr. Cameron is an internationally recognized expert in the field of heritage conservation. She has made an outstanding contribution to the conservation of cultural and natural heritage in Canada and around the world. In July 2014 Dr. Cameron was named president of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Mr. McAvity’s appointment recognizes his contributions to preserving Canada’s cultural heritage, notably through his long-standing role as executive director of the Canadian Museums Association (CMA). A life member of the National Trust, Mr. McAvity has worked tirelessly to bring relevancy, innovation, and funding to the museum sector. In the past 33 years with the CMA, he successfully lobbied for new legislation for the indemnification of exhibitions, and the 1991 federal museums policy.

About the Order of Canada

Established in 1967 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is the centerpiece of Canada’s honours system and recognizes a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.  

For further information: 
Carolyn Quinn, Director of Communications 
Telephone: 613-237-1066 ext. 229; Cell: 613-797-7206