You are here


Every Canadian province and territory has given their respective municipalities the ability to pass bylaws to protect heritage buildings and sometimes districts. Most large urban centres have heritage planning programs within their planning departments. While heritage designation by municipal bylaw provides recognition and limited protection, it is often the key to managing built heritage resources, as well as a pre-requisite for funding to assist in the rehabilitation or restoration of such property.

Selected Links:

Victoria, British Columbia

Vancouver, British Columbia

Edmonton, Alberta

Calgary, Alberta 

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Regina, Saskatchewant

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Toronto, Ontario

Kingston, Ontario

Ottawa, Ontario

Montreal, Quebec

Quebec City, Quebec

Saint John, New Brunswick

Fredericton, New Brunswick

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador