You are here

City of Brampton, Ontario receives Heritage Canada Foundation Achievement Award

Ottawa, ON June 22, 2012 – The Heritage Canada Foundation (HCF) and the Brampton Historical Society (BHS) are pleased to announce the presentation today of a national Achievement Award to the City of Brampton, Ontario, for the rebuilding of the 1902 Brampton CPR Station as part of the new Mount Pleasant Community Centre, Library and Elementary School at 100 Commuter Drive.  

The Achievement Award recognizes and celebrates the effort the City undertook to ensure the historic station’s integration into Brampton’s new Mount Pleasant development. Working in partnership with Mattamy Homes, the Peel District School Board and the Brampton Public Library, the City oversaw the reconstruction of the brick and Credit Valley stone structure that had been meticulously documented by volunteers, dismantled brick by brick in  1998 and moved into storage to prevent its demolition.

In 2008, as part of its project to identify possible adaptive reuse options for the station, the City of Brampton proposed its reconstruction as a public amenity space within a civic square in the Mount Pleasant Village development. The services of heritage consultants were retained to frame a plan for relocation and to supervise the station’s rebuilding with the City.

Mayor Susan Fennel accepted the award on behalf of the City of Brampton that was presented jointly by HCF Ontario governor Michael Seaman and BHS president Michael Avis at a special celebration at the award-winning Mount Pleasant Community.  

The HCF Achievement Award honours individuals or groups for their achievement in heritage advocacy and volunteerism, and for projects that demonstrate a commitment to heritage conservation. Nominations are encouraged throughout the year.

Photos of the Brampton CPR Station can be viewed here

The Heritage Canada Foundation is a national registered charity dedicated to the preservation of Canada’s historic places. Your support is vital to our work. Please join or make a tax-deductible donation today.


Carolyn Quinn, Director of Communications,

Telephone: (613) 237-1066 ext 229; Cell (613) 797-7206